Buncombe County

Send your PHOTOS!


Buncombe County includes the following markets:

Cities, Towns and Municipalities:

Arden, Asheville, Black Mountain, Montreat, Swannanoa, Weaverville

Other Communities:

Alexander, Barnardsville, Biltmore Forest, Candler, Enka, Leicester, Ridgecrest, Royal Pines, Skyland, Sulphur Springs, Woodfin

Information About This Market

County Seat



238,318 - 2010 US Census

Land Area

656.67 sq. mi.

USDA Climate/Hardiness Zone

6b (-5 to 0 F) through 7a (0 to 5 F)


Van Duncan

District Attorney

Ron Moore

Register of Deeds

Drew Reisinger

Clerk of Court

Steven Cogburn

County Manager

Wanda Greene

Sponsored Organizations

NC Cooperative Extension - Buncombe


Buncombe County Public Libraries


Buncombe County Emergency Management


Buncombe County Sheriff's Department

Van Duncan - Buncombe County Sheriff


Buncombe County Schools

Tony Baldwin - Superintendent