Hyde County

Local Photos Wanted!


Hyde County includes the following markets:

Cities, Towns and Municipalities:

Ocracoke Island, Swan Quarter

Other Communities:

Engelhard, Fairfield, Ponzer, Scranton

Information About This Market

County Seat



5,810 - 2010 US Census

Land Area

612.70 sq. mi.

USDA Climate/Hardiness Zone

8a (10 to 15 F)


David T. Mason

District Attorney

Seth Edwards

Register of Deeds

Merita Spencer

Clerk of Court

Sharon Sadler

County Manager

Mazie Swindell

Sponsored Organizations

NC Cooperative Extension - Hyde County

Mac Gibbs - County Extension Director


Hyde County Government


Hyde County Register of Deeds

Honorable Merita Spencer - Register of Deeds


Hyde County Emergency Management


Hyde County Sheriff's Department

David T. Mason - Hyde County Sheriff